Aamir Khan received the prestigious ‘Maharashtrian of the Year’ award by leading Marathi newspaper Lokmat. Aamir shares the honour with R. R. Patil, the Home Minister of Maharashtra.

Aamir Khan Receives Maharashtrian Of The Year Award

While Aamir Khan received the award in the entertainment category, Patil got his in politics. Others who were honoured include Sanjay Gaikwad in industry, Bhagwan Rampure in arts, Kavita Raut in sports, Dr. Ravindra Kolhe and Smita Kohle in social service.

Lokmat editor and Rajya Sabha MP Vijay Darda spoke about the problems that affected the state namely malnutrition slow industrial development and farmers’ suicide. Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan was also present at the ceremony along with Union Sports Minister Ajay Maken, state Education Minister Rajendra Darda, Jackie Shroff, Jeetendra and businessman Gautam Singhania. Former High Court Judge B. N. Deshmukh, Anna Hazare, Gulzar, Rajdeep Sardesai and Dilip Vengsarkar were among the jury members.

Check This Out