The winners list of the much awaited ‘National Film Awards’ is out now and the critically acclaimed Paan Singh Tomar was named the Best Feature Film of 2012.


The Tigmanshu Dhulia-directorial even won the Best Actor’s trophy for Irrfan Khan, who essayed the role of a national level athlete who went on to become one of the most dreaded dacoits of Chambal Valley.

The Best Actor’s trophy is shared by Vikram Gokhale for Marathi film Anumati, while the Best Actress honour went to Usha Jadhav for her performance in Dhag, also in Marathi.

In the feature film category, a total of 38 films from 14 languages have been selected for the awards.

Hindi film Chittagong and Malayalam movie 101 Chodiyangal have shared the Indira Gandhi Award for the Best Debut Film of a director. The award for the best popular film for providing wholesome entertainment has been shared by Bollywood movie Vicky Donor and Malayalam project Ustad Hotel.

Paan Singh Tomar, Vicky Donor and Kahaani Movie Poster
Paan Singh Tomar, Vicky Donor and Kahaani Movie Poster

The best director accolades are for Shivaji Lotan Patil for Marathi film Dhag.

The award for the Best Supporting Actor has been conferred on Annu Kapoor for the film Vicky Donor, and Dolly Ahluwalia has won the best supporting actress for the same film. She shares the award with Kalpana for Malayalam film Thanichallanjan.

In the best child artist category, there is a tie between Virendra Pratap for Hindi film Dekh Indian Circus and Minon for 101 Chodiyangal.

The music category saw ace composer Shankar Mahadevan gets the best male playback singer award for the song Bolo na from the film Chittagong. The award for the best female playback singer was conferred on Samhita for the song Palakein naa moon don from the Marathi film Aarti Anklekartikekar.

The award for the best screenplay writer (original) has gone to Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani, while in the adapted screenplay the honour has been given to Bhavesh Mandalia and Shri Umesh Shukla for the film OMG Oh My God!.

Anjali Menon’s dialogues in Malayalam film Ustad Hotel have won her a National Award, and the best lyrics award has gone to Prasoon Joshi for the song Bolo na from the film Chittagong.

A special jury award has been conferred on Rituparno Ghosh for Bengali film Chitrangadha and to Nawazuddin Siddiqui for the films Kahaani, Gangs Of Wasseypur, Dekh Indian Circus and Talaash.

The award for the best choreography has been conferred on Birju Maharaj for the Tamil film Vishwaroopam.

Bollywood actress Parineeti Chopra won a special mention for her performance in Ishaqzaade for her convincing delineation of a daredevil girl, and so did Tannishtha Chatterjee for Dekh Indian Circus.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Check This Out