The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA) announced it has named former U.S. Senator Christopher J. Dodd as its new Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. Senator Dodd, who completed five terms in the United States Senate in January, will assume his new role on March 17th (St. Patrick’s Day).

Senator Christopher Dodd Is New Chief Of MPAA

“Chris has served our country as a highly respected and accomplished Senator for over 30 years, and we are truly fortunate that he will bring his stature and talent to support,” commented Fox Filmed Entertainment Chairman & CEO Jim Gianopulos.

Democrat Senator Dodd represented Connecticut in the Senate for 30years, from 1981 to 2011. He was Chairman of the Senate Banking Committee and also was the author of the historic Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. He is respected as an effective lawmaker. “I am truly excited about representing the interests of one of the most creative and productive industries in America, not only in Washington but around the world,” said Dodd.  “The major motion picture studios consistently produce and distribute the most sought after and enjoyable entertainment…protecting this great American export will be my highest priority. It is also an honor to follow in the footsteps of Jack Valenti and Dan Glickman, both of whom I worked with on many occasions over the years.”

Alan Braverman, Senior Executive Vice President and General Counsel at the Walt Disney Company and MPAA Search Committee Member added, “This is a critical time for the motion picture industry and we couldn’t be more pleased that Chris Dodd is leading our team.  His vast experience in consensus-building and innovative approaches to resolving complex issues make him the ideal choice to lead this organization.”

The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA) serves as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video and television industries. Its members include: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Paramount Pictures Corporation; Sony Pictures Entertainment Inc.; Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation; Universal City Studios LLC; and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

Check This Out