Sharman Joshi, Aamir Khan, R. Madhavan (3 Idiots Movie Stills)The highest grossing Bollywood movie of 2009, 3 Idiots, swept the 55th Filmfare Awards, bagging as many as six popular awards including the Best Film and the Best Director trophies.

While Aamir Khan and the Bachchan family boycotted the event, the Who’s Who of the industry attended the glitzy ceremony held at Yash Raj Studios, Bombay on February 27.

Rajkumar Hirani, the director of 3 Idiots,was a happy man as his film received one award after another. Besides Best Film and Best Director trophies, Hirani also won the black lady for the Best Dialogue, Screenplay and Story jointly with Abhijat Joshi and Vidhu Vinod Chopra.

Amitabh Bachchan and Vidya Balan won the Best Actor in a leading role (Male and Female) awards for Paa. While Vidya received her award from Sreedevi and Boney Kapoor, she also collected Amitabh’s trophy as the Bachchan family did not attend.

Amitabh wrote on his blog, “We have informed Filmfare that neither will Aishwarya be performing at the event, for which all preparations had been made and neither shall any of us be attending. Which includes Balki the director of the film, even when Paa has been nominated in five categories for the evening. No coercion, just a voluntary decision of solidarity.”

Boman Irani (3 Idiots) and Kalki Koechlin (Dev D) bagged the Best Supporting Actor trophies, while Ranbir Kapoor and Mahie Gill won the Critics’ award for best Actor Male and Female respectively, for Wake Up Sid and Dev D.

AR Rahman took away his 25th Filmfare in the form of Best Music for Delhi 6, while Amit Tivedi won the R D Burman Music Award for Dev D.

Shashi Kapoor and Khayyam were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Shahrukh and Saif Ali Khan compered the event; Shruti Haasan and Siddharth will take over from next year.

Shahid Kapoor performed a Michael Jackson tribute, even doing his trademark moonwalk.

It was an evening for the industry to come together and celebrate their success.

Check This Out